Disaster Recovery Center opens in Coweta

Collaborator: Brittany Harlow
Published: 06/18/2019, 7:35 AM
Edited: 03/11/2021, 10:22 AM
(OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla.) The following information was made available by various government sources. A joint state/federal Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) opened Tuesday, June 18 at Coweta in Wagoner County. A DRC offers in-person support to individuals and businesses in Oklahoma counties covered by the federal disaster declaration for severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding that began on May 7, 2019. Recovery specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) will be at the center to talk about assistance and to help anyone who needs guidance in filing an application. The new center is at the following location: OSU Extension
Wagoner County Fairgrounds
30058 East 147th St. South
Coweta, OK 74429 
Hours: daily 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Also, the joint state/federal Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) at Case Community Center, 1050 W. Wekiwa Road in Sand Springs, has new opening and closing hours that started Monday, June 17. The new hours will be 8 a.m.-8 p.m. Monday through Saturday, and 8 a.m.-6 p.m. on Sunday, until further notice. If possible, homeowners, renters and businesses should have contacted their insurance company and registered with FEMA before visiting a recovery center. Registration is available in the following ways: * Online at DisasterAssistance.gov. * Phone (800) 621-3362 (voice, 711/VRS-Video Relay Service) (TTY: (800)462-7585). Multilingual operators are available (press 2 for Spanish). * Via the FEMA app, available for Apple and Android mobile devices. To download visit: fema.gov/mobile-app. The following information is helpful when registering: * Address of the location where the damage occurred (pre-disaster address). * Current mailing address. * Current telephone number. * Insurance information. * Total household annual income. * Routing and account number for checking or savings account (this allows FEMA to directly transfer disaster assistance funds into a bank account). * A description of disaster-caused damage and losses. The designated counties for eligible applicants are Canadian, Creek, Delaware, Kay, Logan, Mayes, Muskogee, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Payne, Pottawatomie, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington. Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to businesses, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters to cover residential and business losses as a result of the disaster. Applicants can visit their nearest disaster recovery center for one-on-one assistance or apply online using SBA’s secure website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela. In addition, applicants can get more information on SBA disaster assistance by calling SBA’sCustomer Service Center at (800) 659-2955, by visiting www.sba.gov/disaster, or by emailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call (800) 877-8339. Governor Kevin Stitt announced Monday that FEMA has approved the state's request for disaster assistance for four more Oklahoma counties impacted by flooding, tornadoes, severe storms and straight-line winds. The disaster assistance benefits individuals and business owners affected by severe storms that have occurred in Cherokee, Le Flore, Noble and Nowata counties. FEMA did not approve three counties included in the state’s request for aid: Beaver, Custer and Seminole. It is important that homeowners, renters and business owners in Beaver, Custer and Seminole counties contact FEMA to report their damages in order to provide data that will guide the state in its next steps to help these communities.  


This story has no comments yet