Tomás Rivera Recognition Awards to be presented on May 14

Collaborator: City of Tulsa
Published: 05/12/2020, 3:03 PM
(TULSA, Okla.) The Greater Tulsa Area Hispanic Affairs Commission will announce the recipients of the Tomás Rivera Awards on May 14, at 6 p.m. during the scheduled virtual meeting. Awardees, family members and interested community members are encouraged to view the virtual meeting on Tulsa Government Access Television (TGOV -, on Cox Digital Cable (channel 24), via GoToMeeting online at, or by telephone (312) 757-3121, Access Code 494-249-237. As a precautionary measure to aid in stopping the spread of COVID-19, the Commission cancelled their previously scheduled event at Tulsa Central Library. Awardees will receive certificates via U.S. Mail. The Tomás Rivera Awards honor scholars and heroes in education who make a positive impact in the Latinx community. These categories are described below: Heroes in Education: Outstanding citizens who work actively supporting the Latinx community in education as a volunteer parent, exceptional teacher, educational researcher, tutor and mentor, administrative staff and/or community member Scholars: Latinx students in their junior or senior year of high school with a grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, with 90-percent attendance in the first semester of their current year and who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in extracurricular activities both in school and in the community The Greater Tulsa Area Hispanic Affairs Commission’s Education Committee selected the award winners from among open nominations received through a form available online and at Tulsa City-County Library locations. See below for a complete list of awardees. HEROES IN EDUCATION Perla Boggs Skiatook Public Schools Vivian Castillo OSU Courtney Connelly Jenks Public Schools Dr. Ronald Cox, Jr. OSU Blanca Delgado Community Service Council Olivia Landrum University of Tulsa Cara Lovell Tulsa Public Schools Maria Monhaut Bishop Kelly High School SCHOLARS Dayle Bernal Webster High School Giselle Bustos Booker T. Washington High School Odalys Castillo Union High School Randy Castorena East Central High School Sheila Lara Chavarría Nathan Hale High School Lidia Echeverría Skiatook High School Joshua Finch Booker T. Washington High School Paige Finch Booker T. Washington High School Jade Flores Tulsa MET High School Neydi Cerrillo González Union High School Alejandra Guzman Tulsa School of Arts and Sciences Lena Hernández Phoenix Rising Valerie Martínez Nathan Hale High School José Nava Jenks High School Gabriela Peña Union High School Carlos Pita Pérez Nathan Hale High School Natasha Pérez Jenks High School Markos Wester Rivera Booker T. Washington High School Gloria Rubio Booker T. Washington High School Hannia Ortega Ruiz Union High School José Saldívar Booker T. Washington High School Diana Gabriela Sifuentes Broken Arrow High School Melany Almonte Sosa Nathan Hale High School


This story has no comments yet